Ten Reasons to Shoot Film

1. It’s still available.
2. I enjoy the feeling of handling film cameras.
3. Film cameras are small and light yet sturdy.
4. I can use top-quality lenses that are just as small.
5. The viewfinder is large, clear and bright.
6. I’m not dependent on batteries.
7. I like the way negative films handle highlights.
8. I tend to shoot with more forethought.
9. Film manufacturers are still producing better films.
10. Less reliance on a computer for processing and printing.

Source.

UPDATE 09/Feb/2012: I would add one more reason:

11. I have never seen brighter, vivid and deeper colors than a chrome on a lightbox.

3 thoughts on “Ten Reasons to Shoot Film

  1. With four Nikon F and lenses between 20-300mm, I have made the conscious decision NOT to go digital. It would mean:

    1. Having to remember to plug it in at night,
    2. Having to buy (and possibly lose as they are so tiny) endless memory cards,
    3. Worrying when the battery would die on a trip/shoot etc,
    4. Worrying when a tiny electronic component in the micro-circuitry will fail,
    5. Having to turn my Nikon F bodies and lenses into ornaments on my bookshelves,
    6. Having to learn about RAW, JPEG, HTML, setting the custom White balance,
    7. Having to learn the functions of at least 15 buttons on the camera,
    8. Having to learn about pixels.

    • YOU GOT IT, Toby!! On digital you have to deal with endless, expensive and sensitive equipment. Using film is all about taking pictures. Best regards.

Leave a comment